05 June 2021

I have been elected as ordinary member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts (Academia Scientiarum et Artium Europea). The decision on admission to membership was made on May 21, 2021 by the Senate of the Academy based on merits in scientific research and other achievements of candidates.

The Academy has its headquarters in Salzburg, Austria, and brings together over 2,000 prominent scientists and experts from all over Europe. Among them are 34 Nobel Prize winners, and they are divided into eight classes: humanities, medicine, arts, natural sciences, social sciences, law and economics, technical and environmental sciences, world religions, corporate and public governance. I have been elected as the ordinary member in class I – Humanities.

The European Academy was founded at the initiative of world-renowned heart surgeon from Salzburg Felix Unger, who was its first President for 30 years, then Archbishop of Vienna Cardinal Franz König and political philosopher Nikolaus Lobkowitz, former Rector of the Universities of Munich and Eichstätt, who was Vice President and Honorary President of Academy. Former Rector Ivan Supek and the then Rector of the University of Zagreb Zvonimir Šeparović were present at the founding Assembly of the Academy on March 7, 1990 in Salzburg. Since 2020, the President of the Academy is the philosopher of science Prof Emeritus Klaus Mainzer.

The mission of the Academy is to encourage interdisciplinary collaboration between eminent scientists from all fields, leading artists and management experts. Their task is to study societal challenges and help address complex issues important to Europe's future and prosperity. The Academy defines itself as a living expression of the spiritual unity of Europe. Promoting disciplinary and interdisciplinary cooperation at the European level, it is particularly concerned with the preservation of European values, their proper position, radiation and fertilisation in the world.

In the media


University of Zagreb
Croatian Studies
Znanstveno-učilišni kampus Borongaj
Borongajska cesta 83d
HR-10000 Zagreb